Registration of trademarks in The Eurasian Economic Union

700px-Flag_of_the_Eurasian_Economic_Union.svg.pngThe Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) is an economic union between Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan, which resembles the EU in some way.

From that point of view, Liudmila Serova (Gorodissky & Partners) published a very intriguing article for Lexilogy, which discusses how you can register trademarks in EAEU. In brief, there are three main ways in that regard:

  1. To register national trademarks in every separate country – the article gives some interesting details for the trademark legislation in the countries part of EAEU. For example, the well-known status of a trademark in Kazakhstan has to be proved every 10 years after renewing of the mark. The period for non-use of a mark in Russia, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan is only 3 years.
  2. The second option is to register trademark based on the Madrid system for international registration of marks.
  3. The last option is to register a regional EAEU trademark, which is a new option where you can file one application designating the countries part of the EAEU where you want your trademark to be registered. It’s an easier and cost-effective way.

More information can be found here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s